Fashion / Fashionista

The Fashion Trend That Made My Summer

boston proper

When I saw this Hand-Crocheted Boho Skirt ($119) on the Boston Proper website last summer, it was lust at first sight. It was on back order, but I ordered it anyway and as the weeks ticked by I got a strange feeling. Where was my skirt? Long story short, Boston Proper was still waiting on the shipment so they refunded my money AND gave me a gift certificate with free shipping on my next order. Talk about awesome customer service!

Still… that skirt. It’s back in and I just ordered it. Soon I will be united with my fashion crush…

Anywho, crochet is really hot this summer and I couldn’t be happier. I don’t call this blog the girly girl for nothing. Frills, lacy bits and ruffles… yeah, baby. That’s what’s up. Crochet is just everywhere, and let’s just say I went a little crazy with it. This summer alone I got a crochet vest, a crochet tank, a crochet mini skirt and the crochet maxi skirt.

swoon-boutique-miniskirt-tan-849415

I ordered the maxi skirt but I was not done with my crochet fixation. I found this mini skirt on a Google search and ordered it, too. I got it from the website Tradesy.

crochet tank

What sparked my crochet obsession of Summer 2014 was this video from PinkSoFoxy on Youtube. I was just mildly entertained until she got to the 3:09 mark and then O… M… G! That top! The tiered scalloped hem! She explained that she got it at Jeans Warehouse which, just my luck, is in Hawaii. It was killing me. The closeup on the tag said it was made by Teenbell. Hey, all is not lost. I’m handy with internet searching. I tried every search combination I could think of but no dice. So what do I do? I go on a quest for the Holy Grail. Ross, Marshall’s, T.J. Maxx, store after store, until finally I came across this top in T.J. Maxx. Not the exact same, but close enough to satisfy my craving. I really like it! I wore it to Wawa Welcome America on the 4th of July, over a tangerine cami and paired with a denim mini skirt. J Hud was awesome BTW. I digress…

crochet vest

Then there was this AMAZING vest which I found on that same trip to T.J. Maxx. Feeling guilty about my manic shopping, I left it in the store. It kept messing with my head so I went back for it two days later. I found the last one hidden on some random rack wrapped around a hanger. MINE!

victorias secret

Rounding out my crochet wardrobe is this super cute dress I got from Victoria’s Secret a couple of summers ago.

Enough?

 

7 thoughts on “The Fashion Trend That Made My Summer

  1. I seriously love your website.. Excellent colors & theme.

    Did you build this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal site and want to
    find out where you got this from or what the theme is
    called. Appreciate it!

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  3. Pingback: My 5 Fave Trends of 2014 + The One That Must DIE | The Girly Girl

  4. Pingback: Haul Time! Mary DeMarco, jtyds, Lucky | The Girly Girl

  5. Pingback: The Look of Coachella – 6 Styles That Define Festival Fashion | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

