DIY / Nailing It

Pretty Summer Pedi

pedicure

As I’ve said before, I love doing my summer pedicures. Summer is my absolute favorite season – hands down, no question. Being able to stick my feet in a pair of sandals and run out the door is part of the fun. Every couple of weeks I dig around in my basket of polish and come up with some fun design for my toes. I’m one of those girls who believes that you just can’t wear sandals without painted toes – which is funny considering some of the other fashion rules that I completely ignore. But I digress – on to the how-to!

essie beyond cozy

essie polish beyond cozy

I started this pedicure with two coats of Essie Polish in Beyond Cozy ($8). It’s a gorgeous glittery metallic that hovers between pewter and antique gold. It is fully opaque with fine bits of glitter.

For the design, I let it dry for an hour before stamping with my Konad kit. I’d much rather wait an excessive amount of time than ruin my base and have to start over. Nail stamping requires you to mash a rubber stamper down on your toes so you must be completely dry first.

konad m24

Konad m36For my big toes, I used the flowers from Konad plate m24 ($7) with an ULTA brand blue polish I got on clearance a while back and the butterflies from plate m36 ($7) with Konad Special Polish in Black Pearl ($7).

plaque-bundle-monster-bm06

On the next toe I used the rose from Bundle Monster plate BM06 with the Konad Black Pearl polish. I know many girls love their Bundle Monster plates, but overall I am not a fan. This is one of the few designs that gives me a clean stamp, and that’s only when I use special polish. I love this rose, however, and I use it all the time. I used blue polish with a dotting tool for my middle toe and some flower stamps for the next toe.

milani jewel fx gold

I finished the design by dabbing Milani Jewel FX in Gold ($2) around my designs with a dotting tool. This stuff is crazy cheap and fabulous! When using glitter polish, I find it helpful to pour out a dab of polish and use a tool to pick up the flakes so I can apply it with more precision.

closeup

I’m loving it!

 

One thought on “Pretty Summer Pedi

  1. Pingback: Sparkling Cerulean Pedicure | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

