DIY / Makeup

Easy Fix for Frayed Brushes

011112-beauty-problems-1-400

My Sigma brushes are the finest in my collection. I find plenty of great brushes in the drugstore, but these are just special. It really does give you that MAC brush quality at an affordable price. The Sigma E36 Blending Brush is a delicate wisp of a thing, but I love how it works perfectly with small hooded eyes like mine.

frayed brushI had put it in a holder, and when I took it out recently I found that it was completely smashed! It was way worse at first than in the picture above. I was kind of upset. I really wasn’t interested in buying a new one. Fortunately, I figured out a way to rejuvenate it and bring it back to life.

oiled brushI started by dipping it in grapeseed oil. Olive oil would have worked just fine, but grapeseed is what I had on hand.

shaping brush

resting brush

 

blotting brush

I then gently shaped the hairs and laid it flat for several hours, even overnight. After that, I squeezed out the excess oil with a paper towel. I had to do this a few times before I got it back in decent shape. It was really beat up! I could have washed it with soap when I was done, but I didn’t really feel the need. The oil conditioned the brush the same as it does my hair, and the rest got absorbed into the fibers.

fixed brush

Finally, I was satisfied with the results. Much better!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Easy Fix for Frayed Brushes

Leave a Reply

