Lips & Eyes / Makeup

My 5 Fave MAC Products

MAC favorites

When it comes to makeup, I’m much more of a drugstore girl. For me to indulge in a high end or mid range cosmetic, it has to be a perfect storm of the lust factor and really doing something to enhance my collection. Being a YouTube beauty geek has really given me all the info I need to scope out what’s great at the drugstore, and I can get a cheap thrill and plenty of variety in my makeup kit. Especially when it comes to color cosmetics, I can browse the department store for hours but the price tag usually has me backing away slowly… oooohh… maybe not.

However, I don’t mind spending a little extra for those base products that I reach for every time I do my makeup. MAC really delivers some outstanding products where that is concerned. These five favorites are staples that really give me my money’s worth.

mac bronzing powder

MAC Bronzing Powder in Bronze ($25)

I absolutely love this stuff. I’ve been using it longer than any other MAC product I own. I first bought it when I really didn’t know anything about makeup and just got MAC because everyone said it was the best. It was my go-to and I got a lot of compliments when I used it. I put it away for a long time and recently fell in love with it all over again. The beauty of it is that it’s not terribly pigmented and you can really build it up to just the right flush of warmth. I’ve heard some people say that they really don’t like the bits of shimmer, but they are actually quite fine and subtle. This powder also comes in Matte Bronze.

mac pro longwear concealer

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer ($20)

After watching more than my share of YouTube I decided to try my hand at contouring and highlighting, and I knew I needed the perfect under eye concealer to pull it off. Every guru, Jaclyn Hill in particular, could not stop talking about this stuff. It did not disappoint. You get maximum coverage and a lightweight formula that doesn’t cake or crease. When you go a little lighter than your skin tone under the eyes, you get a gorgeous glow. I always set it with Ben Nye Banana Powder for my version of the Kim K effect.

mac-cosmetics-paint-pot-eye-shadow-soft-ochre--148-p

MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre ($21)

I have very oily eyelids, and the combination of this and Urban Decay Primer Potion is this only thing that stops my eye makeup from wearing off right on the crease. It even helps my eyebrows stay on! This color also doubles as a highlighter under the brow bone (depending on your skin tone).

mac mineralize skinfinish natural

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural ($32)

This baked product started its life as a cream and the formula is packed with minerals. It is a great setting powder and very versatile. Many women use the darker colors to contour. It also gives you enough light coverage to skip foundation.

MAC over indulgence

MAC Cremesheen Glass in Over Indulgence ($20)

I’m a lip gloss whore of the worst kind, but I still keep coming back to this gloss. Despite the sticky texture, it’s my perfect neutral “my lips but better” gloss. Even with very pigmented lips and very tan skin, I still get enough color that I don’t have to layer it with other products.

4 thoughts on “My 5 Fave MAC Products

  1. Pingback: My 5 Fave YouTube Vloggers | The Girly Girl

  2. Pingback: My Top 12 Most Used Makeup Brushes | The Girly Girl

  3. Pingback: March Favorites | The Girly Girl

  4. Pingback: Beauty Haul | ULTA, Zoya, NYX, Makeup Geek, Makeup Eraser | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

