DIY / Hair Care

DIY Hair Mask

DIY Hair Mask

Hey Girlies! I’m always trying to step up my hair care game. My hair is coarse and very dry, requiring a lot of oil and hydration. Winter is very drying to the skin skin and hair anyway, so maybe we could all use some extra TLC… right? I’ve been using this hair mask for the past several weeks, and it has been great for boosting hydration and cutting down the frizz factor. I’m also getting much better definition in my natural curls.

I’ve preached the gospel of natural oils on several occasions, and I am convinced that they can do EVERYTHING. Hair, skin, nails… e-e-e-e-e-e-ery thang. I keep several varieties on hand. This mask uses:

  • Coconut oil. Coconut oil is super hydrating. If your skin is kinda dry, give it a coconut oil mask and then hop in the shower and take it off with a wash cloth just before you get out. You’re welcome.
  • Grapeseed oil and olive oil. Both are great for conditioning and shine.
  • Castor oil. Yeah, it’s kinda thick and gross but don’t be scared. If you are frizz-prone it is fantastic for sealing the cuticle.
  • Argan oil. Very hydrating and a little does a lot. I use three pumps (roughly a teaspoon) of it in this mask.

mask 3

mask 2

mask 1

I start with a dollop of Queen Helene Cholesterol. I like how it makes the mask creamy and easy to spread through the hair. Plus, it’s super cheap (around four bucks) and easy to find in beauty supply and some drug stores – be sure to check the ethnic hair section. Then I add in all my oils and whip it all together. I prep my hair with a few spritzes of water and then work in the mask. Then I cover my hair with a shower cap.

htwrap_white_large

I like to use heat with my hair treatments to help them penetrate. The Hair Therapy Wrap is BOSS. Seriously, you need this in your life. Pop it in the microwave and you have a heat cap for about half an hour without being held hostage under a hooded dryer.

Leave it on for a while. The Hair Therapy Wrap lets you move on with your (indoor) life. Wash it out as per your normal routine and see if your hair isn’t super shiny and silky!

Leave a Reply

