Great Deals / Skin Care

Battle of the Brands: Josie Maran vs. Aura Cacia Argan Oil

argan oilI’m a huge fan of QVC and Josie Maran is a big deal on there. I’m really not a hater when it comes to high end brands trying to make their money, but I have to be honest. I feel a little tweaked when I hear Josie wax poetic about her argan oil. First cold pressed! Purest of the pure! Accept no imitations!

Natural oils have been lurking in health stores for decades with humble packaging at reasonable price points. I’ve dabbled in aromatherapy blends from time to time. I know my lavender from my tea tree oil. Natural oils and DIY products make up more than 80% of my skin and hair care products at this point. I’ve had a chance to try Josie Maran Argan Oil from Sephora a couple of times and I liked it. I got a full size version in the Sephora Superstars set a couple of years back and a trial size for my 100 point perk twice.

This winter has been brutal on my skin and I finally had to let go of my beloved Clinique exfoliant and rethink my routine. I really needed to up the hydration in my skin. I’ve talked trash about the JMAO in previous posts, and I decided to put my money where my mouth is. I really love the Rosehip Oil from Aura Cacia, and I decided to give their argan oil a try. Here’s my take on the comparison between the two.

Quality

JMAO is first cold pressed, pure argan oil. It is ethically sourced from women in Morocco in a fair trade agreement. The women in Morocco gather the argan fruit and press the oil by hand. Aura Cacia Argan Oil is also cold pressed by a women’s cooperative in Morocco in a similar fair trade agreement. You can read more about the process here.

Performance

I enjoyed the JMAO and used it all up. I used it on both my skin and my hair. The ACAO has been impressive as well. It has done a great job of helping to restore the moisture balance in my skin. I was having horrible dry skin and flaking from too much exfoliation. At first I tried slathering on the coconut oil, but my skin did not take kindly to that at all. I have been using a pump of argan oil and a pump of rosehip oil and massaging it into my face twice a day for over a month and my skin is pretty much back to normal. I’ve also included it in my hair masks. I’ve gotten great results from an alternative brand, and other women have as well.

Packaging

The JMAO comes in an eye dropper glass bottle that really lets you control how much you use. The ACAO has a pump in a glass bottle that works OK but gives you less control. Both bottles are dark to protect the product from the light.

Price

So far JMAO has been holding its own, but this is the knock out punch. I got my ACAO at Whole Foods for $14.99 for a 1 oz. bottle. Sephora sells a JMAO MINI bottle that is literally HALF the size (.5 oz.) for $16. The 1.7 oz. JMAO is $48. Basically, the JMAO costs double the price. Girlies… save your money.

The winner is…. AURA CACIA ARGAN OIL!!! WHOOOOO!!!

3 thoughts on “Battle of the Brands: Josie Maran vs. Aura Cacia Argan Oil

  1. Pingback: DIY Moisture Serum | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

