Makeup / Skin Care

Youtube Made Me Buy It

youtube buys

Let me just start by saying that 80% of my makeup collection could easily be included in this post to some extent. Whether the purchase was inspired by intrigue, research, product comparisons or just plain lust, Youtube makeup videos are where I go when I’m building my collection or just looking for some beauty inspiration. It’s all about real girls using real products in everyday life and getting great results. A lot of times I turn to Youtube for research when I’m looking to fill a specific need, but quite often it’s just pure lust. These are some of the products that have found their way into my stash because at least one beauty guru convinced me that I absolutely had to have it in my life.

mac-cosmetics-paint-pot-eye-shadow-soft-ochre--148-p

MAC Soft Ochre Paint Pot ($21)

This product is a multi-tasker on my eyelids. Not only does it give my shadows a great base and make the colors more vibrant, I can take it all the way up to the brow bone and get a very nice matte highlight. Paint pots really give your powder eye shadows something to hold on to so that they last all day, especially if you have oily eyelids and your crease colors tend to fade.

utopia

Makeup Geek Pigment in Utopia ($7)

I bought this out of pure lust. It was just sss-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o ssspark-a-leee… This glitter is totally gorgeous and you can’t beat it when you want to go for a sultry, seductive, glamorous look.

aura cacia rosehip oil

Aura Cacia Rosehip Oil ($13)

The proof is in the pudding, and you can absolutely see the change in Christine of PinkSoFoxy’s skin from her first videos to the time she started talking about her natural skin care journey. I was totally buying what she was selling. My skin care is very much based in natural oils and other natural products at this point. Rosehip Oil is very conditioning and great for restoring suppleness to the skin.

ben nye banana powder

Ben Nye Banana Powder ($12)

When  Kim Kardashian’s makeup artist revealed that this brightening loose powder was his secret to getting that famous under eye highlight, the Youtube world went crazy for it. Every guru had it in their makeup routine. The rage is over, and the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit is the new thing, but you know what? I’m still with the Ben Nye Powder. It’s cheap, you get a ton of it and it is still one of my best frugal finds. I see no reason to abandon it and jump on another bandwagon. I mean, really. I still have a whole tub!

sigma F82-3T

Sigma F82 Round Kabuki ($24)

After listening to Jaclyn Hill go on and on about her Sigma F80 video after video, it was hard not to drink the Kool Aid. I opted for the rounder version F82, and I really do love the way it buffs both liquids and powders into the skin for a flawless finish.

wet n wild eyeshadow

Wet n Wild/Black Radiance Eye Shadow Palettes ($3-$5)

Emily Noel changed my makeup life with her video on MAC eye shadow dupes. Once I learned that an entire palette of eye shadows in fabulous colors with great quality could be had for $5, there was no stopping me. First I got the 8 pans. Then I got the trios. Then I found out that Black Radiance was made by the same company and I got those, too. Then I started picking up limited editions, throwback palettes from the discount stores and whatever else I could get my hands on. Let’s just say I never feel at a loss for options with my eye makeup.

2 thoughts on “Youtube Made Me Buy It

  1. Pingback: Beauty Haul | BareMinerals, Essie, NYX, Paula’s Choice, Black Radiance | The Girly Girl

  2. Pingback: My Top 12 Most Used Makeup Brushes | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

