Lips & Eyes / Makeup / Nailing It

Mini Makeup Haul – New Lippies, Essie Winter Collection

makeup haul

Lately I’ve been seeing some nude lip looks that really got me inspired. Thankfully we’ve gotten away from that pasty, washed out nude look and moved on to something better. The nude lip trend I’ve been seeing lately and loving is a creamy, golden “your lips but better” look.

gerard cosmetics nude lipstick

When I saw one of my favorite YouTubers WhatWouldLizzyDo wearing this lipstick from Gerard Cosmetics in the the color Nude, I decided I needed that look in my life. The trick was finding a lip color that would look like that on my darker complexion. MAC was my first stop in the search.

mac posh tone

What I found was MAC Mineralize Rich Lipstick in Posh Tone. I started to get Shanghai Spice from their regular line, but this lipstick was much more creamy, hydrating and pigmented. Frankly, I was a bit bummed about the packaging. I like the traditional bullet much better, and I actually don’t own any MAC lipsticks. This tube has a glossy bottom and a matte top, which is kinda strange looking if you ask me. I would much prefer to add a MAC lipstick in the regular tube to my collection. Plus, it cost more! Whatever. I really do like the color.

MAC Posh Tone Swatch

MAC Posh Tone Swatch

MAC Posh Tone

MAC Posh Tone

boots No.7 lipstick bare

Another inspiration from YouTube was LisaLisaD1. She always has the warmest, most flattering nude lipsticks. I came across the Boots No.7 lipsticks in a Walgreen’s mega store. They had testers, and the color Bare reminded me of something that Lisa would wear so I decided to try it.

Boots No.7 Bare Swatch

Boots No.7 Bare Swatch

Boots No.7

Boots No. 7 Bare

It’s a warm, golden honey color that is very flattering. I also like the creamy texture and the pigmentation is excellent.

essie back in the limo

Target has the new Essie Winter Collection 2014. When I saw the color Back in the Limo it was a pure impulse buy. It’s a lovely pastel peachy color that’s neutral without being too pale.Essie

This color is quite versatile. You can wear it on its own for a more conservative look or use it as a base for a french manicure. I’m going to jazz it up with a bit of gold and silver glitter.

One thought on “Mini Makeup Haul – New Lippies, Essie Winter Collection

  1. Pingback: My 5 Fave Trends of 2014 + The One That Must DIE | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

