Lips & Eyes / Makeup

The “Kylie Jenner Lip” for Darker Skin

Kylie-Jenner-buze-625x350

This “Kylie Jenner lip” trend has been everywhere for the past several months, and anyone who wants to know has gotten the deets on how Kylie achieved this look. I have to admit to being rather taken with it myself. I just think it’s such a beautiful color. It’s this flattering mauve-y brown with plum undertones. The fact that it has no gloss or shimmer to it gives the lips such a pouty, sexy look.

tumblr_n7rm9lwNTy1rwhf23o1_500

kylie 2

By now it’s been well documented that Kylie’s go-to products are the MAC lip liners in Whirl, Spice and Soar. She will often just use liner with no gloss or lipstick to get her signature look. I’m not going to get into the whole thing about her technique of over drawing her lips. I don’t care whether or not she’s had injections (either way, more power to her). But I HAVE spent the past several months obsessing just a wee bit about finding lip products that will give me the same effect on my deeper tan skin. I’ve found a few options that I’m pretty happy with, many of them from the drugstore.

wet n wild mochalicious

Wet n Wild Mocha-licious

I was pretty excited about this one. TWO dollars? Seriously? It may not work if you have very dry lips, but I love this color and the pigmentation is awesome. I got a really great color pay off.

Wet n Wild Mochalicious Swatch

mochalicious

jordana elf

Jordana Easyliner in Cabernet + ELF Matte Lip Color in Praline

This ELF lip color had a nice smooth feel on the lips but the color did nothing for me. Once I paired it with the Jordana liner in Cabernet it was perfection. If you have a very deep or ebony skin, the Jordana Cabernet liner would be well worth your $2 investment. It’s smooth and very pigmented and looks great worn alone with no other color on top of it.

elf + jordana swatch

elf + jordana

Buxom NYX

NYX Lip Liner in Nude Truffle + Buxom Full on Lipstick in Brooklyn

I’ve had both of these colors for a while and they are incredibly versatile. The Buxom lipstick has an awesome color and I love the formula. NYX Nude Truffle pairs well with a lot of lipsticks and glosses. Together they gave me the perfect “Kylie Jenner lip”.

Buxom + NYX swatch

Buxom + NYX

A few other Products that deserve honorable mention:

Rimmel Lip Liner in Spice (dupe for MAC Spice)

NYX Mauve Liner (Dupe for MAC Whirl)

Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick in 1995

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

6 thoughts on “The “Kylie Jenner Lip” for Darker Skin

  1. It never occurred to me to try a liner like Cabernet with such a pale lipstick but thats beautiful and i have several lipsticks that are too light for me so i’ll have to try that!

    I love mochalicious on you too, such a pretty shade 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Cabernet is a great color, such a pretty plum but not vampy (on me anyway). I love pairing it with lighter colors. Jordanda liners are such a great formula and SO affordable! I’m pretty excited about Mocha-licious, too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My 5 Fave Trends of 2014 + The One That Must DIE | The Girly Girl

  3. Pingback: Beauty Haul | ULTA, Zoya, NYX, Makeup Geek, Makeup Eraser | The Girly Girl

  4. Pingback: My Holy Grail “Kylie Jenner Lip” Product for Darker Skin | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

