Fashion / Fashionista

#NYFW 2015 on YouTube

Most of us didn’t attend NYFW this past week… or ever. Social media and the fashion bloggers have totally changed the game, turning Fashion Week from an insider’s event for the buyers, sellers and fashion elite to a see-and-be-seen spectacle where every moment and style is broadcast worldwide within minutes. Gone are the days when consumers waited months to see the runway styles as they turned up on the racks in their favorite department stores.

Am I complaining? Not at all! Better yet, the designers have gotten ahead of the game and put themselves on blast, posting pics and videos from their shows on all forms of social media. For those of us who were miles from the action, YouTube is the perfect front row seat for all the shows. The channel Fatale Fashion III has done us all the favor of collecting all the top shows in one place.

Ralph Lauren Takes Neutrals up a Notch

I would totally wear everything from this collection… except the fur. I’m a bit disappointed to see real fur having such a strong showing at Fashion Week. Still, this collection takes neutrals out of the ordinary with gorgeous textures – scattered sequins, fringe, shredded fabric and chunky jewelry. I really loved that floor length white lace number. Me loving lace… shocking, right? If you get a little bored with your bulky winter clothing, pull up this show for inspiration.

Alexander Wang – The New Punk/Goth

Ummm… what just happened? I know Wang is all about edgy street style. I know that part of the fun is being fashion forward. But the models all looked so mad! I guess I would be too if I hadn’t washed my hair in a month. And those boots! Pleeease, make it stop! I’m convinced that they will all convene later that night in the back of some dark club to smoke cigarettes and look bored. Truth? I loved the music. The whole thing was kinda fun.

Badgley Mischka – My Kind of Glamour

From the first look down the runway I was all in. Those fabrics! The embroidery! That aqua gown at the 7:21 mark was to die for. The way the sheer back disappeared into the ruching at the waist… love! Another standout was the last look with the Watteau train. Me like it a lot.

Tadashi Shoji – Enchanted Evening Elegance

Tadashi Shoji always serves up the kind of romantic and feminine looks I go for. I loved how the fringed fabrics fluttered and moved as they walked. That shredded organza cloak at 3:15 was really gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

