DIY / Skin Care

DIY Moisture Serum

DIY Moisture Serum

Hey Girlies! I have been tweaking my skin care routine quite a bit this winter. My skin just got so terribly dry that something had to give. It was flaking and peeling and driving me crazy! I really had to cut out drying products and up the moisture. You all know how much I love my natural oils, and I was having a hard time picking and choosing which ones I liked the best, so I combined my faves into one awesome DIY product. Each oil has such unique and beneficial properties and it was super easy to create my own personal blend. You can get all of your ingredients at Whole Foods. For this you need:

Argan Oil: Argan Oil is packed with essential fatty acids and Vitamin E. It is an excellent moisturizer. Aura Cacia Argan Oil is cold pressed and organic. Like I’ve said before, I would never buy that over-priced stuff.

Rosehip Oil: Rosehip oil is an anti-aging wonder. It has a ton of Vitamin A (retinol), which is one of the best anti-aging ingredients you can use. All those retinoid products rely heavily on Vitamin A to help with cell turnover and restore suppleness to the skin. This gives it to you from a natural source.

Tea Tree and Lavender Essential Oils: Tea Tree oil is anti-bacterial and very well known for calming breakouts. Lavender Oil is great for all kinds of things from acne to insect bites and is one of the most commonly used essential oils for skin issues. You can buy them separately, but Desert Essence combines them for you with their Lavender Tea Tree Oil which you can order from Vitacost.

A 1 ounce eye-dropper bottle: You can pick up one of these pretty much anywhere that you buy essential oils for a couple of dollars.

Fill your 1 ounce bottle a bit below the bottleneck with half Argan and half Rosehip oils. Be careful not to over fill! Once you replace the cap the dropper will cause the liquids to rise. Then add about 35-40 drops of your Lavender Tea Tree Oil (or 20 drops of lavender and 20 drops of tea tree). Screw on the cap and give it a gentle swirl. Use about a dime-sized amount to moisturize your skin. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

