Great Deals / Lips & Eyes / Makeup

Mini MORPHE Haul

morphe brushes haul

In case you missed it… Jaclyn Hill crashed Morphe Brushes‘ website. You know, I’d heard of Morphe before. ThatGirlShaeXo put us on with Morphe ages ago. But when Jaclyn Hill talks, beauty junkies people listen. Suddenly I was intrigued. Look! A beauty bandwagon! Let me jump on it! At $2 per shadow, I could round out my eye shadow stash with some dupes for MAC colors that I knew I could not justify spending $16 on. I mean, Rule is a cool color, but how often was I going to reach for a bright orange shadow? Sixteen dollars? No. Two dollars? Hmmm…

Shopping on Morphe is work. I mean, they really want you to make an effort to spend your money. Mainly it’s because the pictures are the absolute worst. How much trouble would it be to do some swatches in natural light? I spent way too much time watching videos and Googling colors to come up with some products that I wanted to try. I settled on five eye shadows and two brushes.

Morphe Eye Shadows es11 es14 es21 es24 es42

Morphe Eye Shadows swatches es11 es14 es21 es24 es42

The quality of the shadows is quite good… especially for the price. I’m going to keep it real though, I like my NYX and Wet n Wild just as much. It’s definitely not on the level of my Smashbox, Inglot, Urban Decay or Kevyn Aucoin. Can I keep it one hundred? I love Jaclyn, but the way she went on about it made me think it was some next level ish. However, this is a great way to cherry pick some colors that you really want in your collection. ES 14 is a dupe for MAC Rule and ES 24 is a dupe for MAC Embark. Quality wise, the pigmentation on ES 42 Orchid is mind blowing. ES 21 is totally weak. The girl who reviewed it on Youtube said as much. But the color is just so pretty! It’s this nice, glowy pinky-coral matte that’s perfect for summer.

morphe brushes m501 m504

The brushes? Oh yes, you want to get on that. This quality at their price point IS mind blowing. I’m loving M441. It is beautifully tapered. It was actually just a bit too tapered for me so I blunted the top with my hair cutting scissors and a razor and now it’s a slightly domed perfection. I might take a picture of my modification and show it on another post. I really wanted M501 after Jaclyn named it her new favorite highlighting brush. I actually could have gotten it. The first time she mentioned it, it was still available. I told myself “You should get it. The next time she talks about it it’s going to sell out.” However, I was still waiting for the eye shadows to restock. Lo and behold, JHill mentioned it in a favorites video and now it’s gone. Ah, well. #FirstWorldProblems. I settled for M504 instead and it’s really not doing it for me. Too big to be an eye brush, too small to be a face brush. One of my aunts will probably find themselves the lucky recipient of this fine makeup tool.

Overall, I’m happy with what I got. If I could just get my hands on that M501 brush. Me want.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mini MORPHE Haul

  1. Pingback: Spring Into Summer Haul | The Girly Girl

  2. Pingback: New Beauty Stores! NYX in Cali and # in NYC | The Girly Girl

Leave a Reply

