Just Me

2 Mini Pizzas with Fig Jam Sauce

Mini Pizza

Hey Girlies! Today I wanted to mix it up and do something a bit different. I’m a bit of a foodie and I love to be adventurous with my meals. I enjoy cooking as long as it’s not too complex, and one of my favorite things to make is a mini pizza. I always pick up a ball of fresh dough when I’m in Trader Joe’s and I divide it into four parts. Pizza is fun to make because you can really get creative with your toppings and come up with great combinations but it doesn’t require too much effort.

Fig Jam Sauce

I love jams that have unusual flavors. I will put them in sauces or on sandwiches. The fig jam from Whole Foods is my go-to. I also like the Chai Tea Marmalade from Bittersweet Herb Farm that I pick up at The Flower Show every year. For my pizza sauce I mix it in with honey and barbecue sauce.

Mini Pizza

Grilled Chicken Pan Pizza

  • Grilled Chicken
  • Spinach
  • Cilantro
  • Onion
  • Sliced Tomato
  • Mozzarella Cheese
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Fig Jam Sauce
  • Pizza Dough
  • Flour (and maybe corn meal to prevent sticking)

Trader Joe's Pizza Dough

rolled pizza dough

Heat your oven to 450 degrees. Roll out your dough and press it into the pan. Baking in a cast iron skillet will give you a dense, chewy crust. Be sure to use plenty of flour. Pizza can really stick to the pan, and a sprinkling of corn meal on the bottom of the pan will really help with this.

Pizza Toppings

assembled pizza

Now it’s time for the toppings! Start with your sauce and then layer on you spinach and cilantro. Add some tomato and onion slices. Add your chicken and then finish with mozzarella cheese and some grated Parmesan. Bake for 6-10 minutes and you’re all set!

3 Cheese Prosciutto and Caramelized Onion Pizza

This is a really decadent pizza with complex flavors. This ain’t Pizza Hut or Domino’s! The goat cheese makes it creamy and the caramelized onions give it texture. Share it with someone who’s into that sort of thing.

  • Pizza Dough
  • Flour (and maybe corn meal to prevent sticking)
  • Fig Jam Sauce
  • Prosciutto
  • Caramelized Onions
  • Spinach
  • Cilantro
  • Tomato Slices
  • Goat Cheese
  • Mozzarella Cheese
  • Parmesan Cheese

cookie sheet

caramelized onions

assembled sheet pizza

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Roll out your dough and place on a cookie sheet with a sprinkling of corn meal. Baking on a cookie sheet will give you a thinner crust with more crispness. Caramelize your sliced onions in a pan with a bit of butter. These are some great tips to make it just right. My tip? Cast iron skillets retain heat well, and you can turn off the heat and finish cooking for a perfect golden color with no scorching.

From there assemble your pizza. Start with your sauce and layer on your greens and shredded prosciutto. Add your caramelized onions and tomato slices. Finish with your cheeses and bake for 6-10 minutes.

Let me know if you decide to try it. Later Girlies!

Leave a Reply

